Download Event Ical
Date
June 14, 2018
Time
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

 

Mapping Hard to Count Communities for a Fair and Accurate 2020 Census
Thursday, June 14 at 2:00pm ET | 1:00 pm CT | 12:00 pm MT |11:00 am PT
The webinar will present a searchable online map by The Center for Urban Research at the CUNY Graduate Center that identifies communities whose demographics and other characteristics qualify them as “hard to count” for purposes of the 2020 U.S. Census. The map, at https://www.censushardtocountmaps2020.us/ , is designed to help communities reach out to legislators about the importance of fully funding the 2020 Census, and also to help organizations prioritize their upcoming "Get Out the Count" efforts to make sure that the hardest to count populations can fully participate in the census.  The online map has the following features:

·        Search by state, county, and Congressional or state legislative district (highlighting the hard-to-count tracts within each are and revealing how much of the district's population lives in hard-to-count neighborhoods).

·        Zoom in on any tract in the nation to see its hard-to-count profile (click on or tap any tract, or search by address, to find out important demographics such as how many households mailed back their census questionnaire in 2010, and how much of the tract is populated by groups that are at risk of being undercounted, such as children under 5, households with poor Internet access, recent immigrants, and more).

·        Share the map on social media: You can create a permalink for any spot on the map that you can share on social media, in email campaigns, etc.

Presenter: Steven Romalewski, Center for Urban Research at The Graduate Center, The City University of New York

Register